Elders

Sean Eddy, Senior Pastor and Elder (with Tess)

Faith Journey – I accepted Christ as my Savior and Lord during my senior year of high school in Yuma (AZ) in 1983. I have served churches in AZ, CA, CO and MT in pastoral roles. I delight to know Christ more deeply, to be filled with the Spirit more fully, and to grow in the Father’s grace more broadly, all for the glory of God and the building up of the local church.

Family – I married my college sweetheart (Tess) in 1988. We met in P.E. class at Grand Canyon College. We are the parents of seven children and a growing extended family.

Fun – I enjoy spending time with my family, doing home projects, coaching youth sports, watching and playing sports of all kinds, reading and playing guitar.

From? – I was born in Mesa, AZ; grew up in the Phoenix valley; graduated high school and Junior College in Yuma, AZ before coming back to Phoenix and graduating from Grand Canyon.

Food – Yes please, and lots of it. My favorite is chicken enchilada casserole.

Contact Pastor Sean here.

Doug & Ursi BenzDoug Benz, Elder Board Chairman (with Ursi)

Faith Journey – As a young boy I received Christ into my life and have been on the faith journey ever since.

Family – My lovely Swiss wife, Ursi, and I feel privileged to have spent many years working with young folks bringing the Gospel message to their lives.

Fun – I enjoy working on cars and almost anything that involves some sort of new adventure, while Ursi continues praying that someday I will grow up.

From? – I was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri, where Ursi and I also raised our two children. In 2007, we packed our bags and moved to Chandler, where the weather is warm and the outdoor activities are abundant.

Food – My wife’s meatloaf ranks at the top, but in general FOOD is my favorite food as my affinity for potlucks proclaims.

proFession  Senior Network Analyst.

Contact Doug here.

Richard & Kristin Perona

Richard Perona, Elder Board Secretary (with Kristin)

Faith Journey – I came to Christ later in life (about 15 years ago) and continue to mature in my spiritual life.

Family – I married my high-school sweetheart (Kristin) in 1978.  We have two daughters and six grandchildren.

Fun – Disneyland!  Grandkids!  Geocaching and traveling.  And, the never-ending home projects.

From? – I was born in Indiana, but have lived in Arizona almost exclusively since I was 4.  I grew up and went to school in Scottsdale (long-gone Scottsdale High School!), college at ASU and now live in Gilbert.

Food – Mexican and Italian foods are my favorite, especially my wife’s lasagna and Italian sausage.

proFession – I’m a computer security engineer at General Dynamics in Scottsdale.

Contact Richard here.

Lyle Peter, Elder Board Member (with Beate)

Faith Journey – I think influenced by groundwork and prayer of my faithful mother, I committed myself to Christ at an evangelistic meeting at a local church when I was a freshman in high school. It took. God’s remarkable peace has enveloped me since that time.

Family – I am the second of three brothers. I imported a wife (Beate) from Germany. She came as an exchange student to the U of Washington in Seattle while I was a graduate student there. We actually first met in a young adults Bible study affiliated with our Seattle church. We were married in 1980, have four children and three grandchildren.

Fun – I enjoy a lot of things e.g., reading, walking/hiking, road trips and other travel, photography, spending time with family (especially grandchildren) and long-time friends. My current reading tend towards, period piece mysteries (especially British), history, biographies, chemistry and some other natural sciences, faith/science, classic literature.

From – I grew up on a small apple farm in Chelan County, WA. Did a lot of farm work in my early days. Spent most of my adult life in the Seattle area. Beate and I moved to Phoenix in August 2014.

Food – Almost anything. Vegetable rich Chinese dishes. Home grilled classic hamburger.

proFession – retired chemistry professor from Seattle Pacific University.

Contact Lyle here.

Christopher Williams, Elder Board Member (with Karen)

Faith Journey – I guess I attended non-Gospel teaching churches from early childhood until my 40’s or else I was too dense to understand the truth. Finally, at the age of 42, I was invited by my pastor to participate in the Evangelism Explosion Program and God used this to open my heart and mind to receive the Gospel and begin my walk with Him.

Family – Karen and I were married on May 11, 2012, fourteen months after Kay (my first wife) passed away. I have two adult sons, one wonderful daughter-in-law, and three grandchildren.

Fun – I enjoy teaching, hiking and traveling with Karen. We both enjoy working with children and teaching the Bible’s truths to them.

From? – I was born in Newton, Massachusetts. My parents moved to Tucson, Arizona when I was 14. After graduation from the UofA, Kay and I lived in Tucson, Springerville, Kingman, Phoenix, and Chandler during my career.

Food – I don’t have one favorite food, but do enjoy a good steak every couple of weeks and chocolate to complete my dinners!

proFession – Retired after 31 years with the USDA, Natural Resource Conservation Service (which during all but the last three months of my career was the Soil Conservation Service)! My degrees were in Range Management but I finished my career as a Public Information Officer.

Contact Christopher here.